Back to Clinton

Bronze statues of the 12 black students who desegregated Clinton High School.
Bronze statues of the 12 black students who desegregated Clinton High School.

I am back in Clinton and back to being an oral historian. I have also taken a tour of the completed museum … finally. I had seen it at various stages back in 2005/2006 when it was being developed, but I had not seen the completed exhibits with the audio/visual presentations.

One aspect of the final project that I appreciated much more than I expected were the bronze statues of the African American students looking down the hill at where the high school used to stand. They are posed as though they are about to begin their walk to the school, and the figures are surprising recognizable. Many such monuments seem a little cheesy to me, but in this case, it’s very moving to stand behind them, look over their shoulders at the downtown below and think about the events of 1956.

I’m excited to be back and doing some more interviews. Can’t wait to see (or hear) what I’m going to learn on this jaunt!

Leave a Reply

